It’s been a while.
I’m busy.
I’ve never been so busy and overwhelmed in my whole life.  It’s good and bad.

Forgive me.  I didn’t take any pictures.  It’s rainy and wet and everything is dirty and muddy and there aren’t enough hours in the day.  But where I say “insert _______ picutre here” just imagine it.

I have far too many chickens.  I thought it would be fun to get these 6 bantam (tiny, TINY) chicks and that has turned out to be a bit of a pain.  They can squeeze through any hole and they’re so unreasonably small, they can’t live with the big chickens yet so it’s just ridiculous how much more work is involved for these 6 little guys.  They better all be girls though and lay eggs.

But look how cool they’re going to look!

I found this picture on Pinterest.  I don’t even have time to take pictures.

The ducks and turkeys are growing fast.  They’re fun.  I forgot how much I liked having turkeys.

The lady goats are good – as always.  Rocco, the buck (non castrated boy goat – see, look how much you’re learning), is on my last nerve.  He spends most of his day with his head stuck in something or trying to escape.  He has lush pasture all around him but nope, what’s on the other side is better.  I’m wondering if he needs a friend…that he can’t get pregnant. So now I’m in the market for a castrated (fixed) boy goat.  I’m also in the market for a new lady goat!  I can’t keep Baby Piper forever…obviously can’t breed her with her dad so we may have more goats here soon!

INSERT GOAT PICTURES HERE

We’re about to start breeding the rabbits!  Finally those freeloaders are going to earn their keep!  I’m REALLY excited to have a sustainable and ethically raised meat around…sorry.

Beekeeping has started and it is not going well.  Scott and I have both been stung so many times. Beekeeping is all about patience, moving slow, listening to and following directions, and asking for help.  I am not good at any of those things.  I’m trying really hard to have a positive experience out of this next weekend’s hive inspection before we keep moving forward.

INSERT BEEKEEPING PICTURE HERE

I’ve had quite a few failed kitchen experiments here recently.  Just tried the goat cheese cake I made and it tastes really….goaty. Not really what you’re looking for in a cheesecake. On your tongue, it tastes sweet and a little citrusy from the orange peel I added and then it tastes like I’m licking one of the goats.  I wonder if the cheese wasn’t fresh enough.  The older it is the goaty-er it is.  I’ll try again.  I’m determined to love it.  Also, a ton of goat cheese went bad because we weren’t eating enough and I was too lazy to get creative with it.  But that’s what the chickens are for.

I need to learn how to make goat’s milk soap. It keeps forever and we’re a little sick of chevre, I’ve made some smoothies, and it’s all we use when we need milk but aged cheese has been difficult to work in to my overwhelmingly busy schedule.

 

The garden is finally starting to pop.  The lettuce is divine.  It smells divine.  It tastes divine.  I don’t even need salad dressing.  I want salad all day every day.  The kohlrabi is also doing really well but I don’t even know how you eat kohlrabi.

INSERT GARDEN PICTURE HERE

I really really really really want to quit my job and ramp up the farm.  Now is not the time though 😦  I keep finding myself with less money than I thought I had and unable to pursue the farm revenue outlets I desire.  It’s illegal to do almost anything.  Dairy products?  Forget it.  Meat?  You’ve got to be kidding.

Last but not least: SCOTT AND I GET MARRIED IN A MONTH!!!!!!!  I can’t even believe it.  I got my first piece of mail today addressed with my new last name and it felt amazing and weird at the same time!

P.S.  My two best lifelong friends are coming in to town this weekend and the three of us haven’t all been together in two and a half years.  I’m overflowing with joy right now.

