A week and a half ago, I got rabbits.

What am I doing with these rabbits you ask?  To put it bluntly, I’m eating their babies.

Let me explain…

Rabbits have a gestation period of 30-31 days and have anywhere between 2 and 10 kits (baby rabbits) in a litter.  I’m hoping to get enough rabbit to create one meal’s worth of meat a week.  (AKA: dinner for Scott and I)  Raising meat chickens, pork and beef is not really a possibility right now and rabbits are just another option.

The plan was to build 4 rabbit houses over the course of December and buy 4 rabbits in January.  Instead, I got 4 rabbits at the end of December and didn’t build any houses.

You see, Scott and I WERE going to build everything.  Then Christmas came along. I said no worries, I’ll order some online.

They never came.  At one point I got an email saying, “Sorry, just not gonna happen, here’s your money.”  I ordered more.  ONE has come.  Let’s just say it’s a little cozy in there.

rabbit-tractor

I’m going to move it every day so they get some new grass and aren’t sitting on top of their poop all day.  They’re currently in the garden eating the weeds and fertilizing.  Win – win.

What do they eat? Apparently the verdict is all over the place.  One person says if they eat any vegetables, they die.  The other says they can eat a little of this and a little of that.  Others say they can be totally sustainable if you have grass and weeds and veggie scraps.  I have a hard time believing they can’t eat any grass/weeds/veggies, but I’m no expert so I’m giving them a little bit of everything.  Some food, some hay, some veggies.  I don’t know if I’m “filling them up” yet or if they’re just little beggars.  There’s a real chance they’re just spilling everything as soon as I walk out the door.  Note to self: when all houses are here, adhere feed bowls to walls.

I also can’t stand the idea of things spending their whole life in the same coop/field/pen/whatever.  The chickens get to go out and explore during any daylight hours that I’m home.  The goats get to run around the woods and open fields on weekends when I’m home.  I figured I’d do the same for the rabbits.  The garden their tractor is in is all fenced in to keep um…rabbits OUT so I figured if they were already inside it would keep them in as well.  They.loved.it.  They loved running around and chasing each other and eating all the weeds from the summer.  (Garden got a bit neglected at the end)

Either way, this is a super fun project and totally new to me.  They are so soft and fuzzy and I love playing with them.

