There are a few controversial? icky? PG-13? farm related topics I have in mind that I’d like to write about.  Some are being tabled for now.  However, there is one that just can’t go on the back burner because it’s here.  It’s now. And I need to talk about it.

Is my goat in heat?

Am I really going to be able to tell?

What to look for:

  1. She’s making a lot of noise. Cordelia makes noise constantly anyway so this isn’t helpful.  Shyla never makes noise so if she suddenly starts – I’ll suspect something is up.
  2. Tail wagging. Hard to tell.
  3. None yet.
  4. Mounting each other. Haven’t seen it, doesn’t mean it hasn’t happened.
  5. Interested in buck. Well…see below.

I am having the hardest time finding a way to get my goats pregnant.

Driveway breeding – I’m too nervous I won’t know EXACTLY when the girls are in heat and I don’t want to look like an idiot.  Yeah.  I’m being self-conscience – whatever.

Borrowing a Buck – Can’t seem to find anyone that will let me keep one for a bit.

Leaving my Does at a Farm – That would make me sad and I’m being a baby.

Artificial Insemination – I don’t personally know how and wouldn’t be comfortable trying it and I’m nervous I won’t know EXACTLY when the girls are in heat and I don’t want to look like an idiot if a technician or vet comes out.  Yeah.  I’m being self-conscience – whatever.

Buying a buck – I think I’ve found one!  There are certainly pros and cons to this.  Pros being – I don’t have to do all this searching next year and I think I’ll have a better time learning being around this day in day out.  Cons – I have to build him a shelter (who am I kidding – that will be farm fiance’s job) and I can never keep the offspring because they’ll be his daughters.  Oh well, I’ll just have to buy more goats!

However, since I started this post – it looks like I’m picking up a buck of my very own in a few weeks.  Only Cordelia will get bred right ASAP because she’s old enough/big enough.  Shyla needs to wait a while.  I’ve read 8 months and/or 80 pounds.  She’ll be 8 months in December but is currently only about 55 pounds.  I’d feel a lot better if I could have her be at least 8 months and 65+ pounds.

 

Here’s to impregnating goats.

 

Kelsey

