My plan was to start writing a post about farm/life/work balance on Monday and of course it’s already Friday and I’m just now starting.  Clearly….I am not an expert in this subject matter.

I work 40 hours a week (at least) away from home.  It takes me about an hour to get there and an hour to get back.  At a minimum, I’m away from the house 50 hours out of the week and my job includes a lot of nights, weekends and overtime.   It pays the bills and has great benefits so it’s hard to give up but it’s not something I particularly care about.  So that’s hard.

Animal chores don’t really take hours and hours out of my day but before I’m financially comfortable enough to quit my job and farm full time, I’m going to need a lot more little money makers… I mean livestock.  And with more animals means more chores.  More chores means all my free time, during the week at least, goes bye bye.

This is not all bad.  Farming and homesteading is something I truly care about and enjoy.  But I also enjoy getting away for the weekend, vising my entire family out West and being able to have friends over or go see them for an evening.

While I’m writing this, I’m trying to do 2 things at once.  Which is what I’m always trying to do.  And it never does anything for me except cause stress and chaos!

I need to learn to breathe.  Do one thing at a time.  Spend my hour before work getting ready, making sure all the animals have water and food before I’m away for the day, and doing little chores around the house until it’s time to go.

At work: be at work.  There’s no use worrying about what needs to get done later.  It will get done or it won’t. If it doesn’t, it’s not the end of the world.

At home: be at home.  There’s no use worrying about what needs to be done at work.  It will get done or it won’t.  That’s tomorrow’s problem.  Do your chores.  Do them well.  Do what you have time for while the sun is still up.  Cook dinner, take a shower, read, watch tv, do more chores if that’s what you think you need to do.

Just be in the moment.

 

Kelsey

