Hello,

My name is Kelsey.  I thought I’d start a blog.

Starting a blog is never something I thought I’d do – but here I am.  Over the last few years, I have been reading blogs for the first time and the few I’ve really kept up with have not only been extremely informational but inspiring as well.  They finally made homesteading and farming seem like a very real goal I could achieve.

I grew up in the suburbs of Washington D.C. in northern Virginia but on a unique street where everyone had 5 acres, there was no HOA, and we had no neighbors.  Therefore, I grew up with a clothes line, a garden, horses, dogs, goats, a duck, a rooster, a trampoline and an above ground pool. My grandparents also lived way out in the country and had cows, donkeys, chickens, dogs, cats and even geese at one point.  Their neighbors had children the same age as my brother and I and they lived on sheep and goat farms so I learned how to be a real farm kid.  Once I went away to college, most of our animals had since passed away and I got my “fix” by volunteering at a therapeutic riding program and took care of the horses and even became the farm maintenance lady.  After college, I worked on a farm full time. Then I got an office job and read farm blogs full time.

And now, at 26, my fiancé and I live on a 600 acre cattle farm owned by the same family who bought the property 200 years ago.  We rent our own little (I mean tiny) chunk of the land and have 10 chickens, 3 turkeys, 2 goats and a dog.  As well as a 13 X 15 square foot garden.  I’m using knowledge I’ve  had my whole life as well as learning as I go.

This is part of the reason why I’ve started this blog.

  1. I hope to inspire someone the same way other blogs have inspired me.
  2. I hope to teach others new skills, share new ideas and have a place where others can share their ideas with me and other readers.
  3. I love talking about farm animals and at some point, my non farming family and friends are no longer going to pretend to be politely interested.

 

So if you’re reading this, thank you.  I’m excited and a little nervous to see if I have anything worth saying.

Here’s to Coming up with a Cool Sign off Phrase,

 

 

Kelsey

